A backup and restore capability is provided with
bcdDocuments. It is available only to those persons designated as
bcdDocuments administrators. This capability is under the
bcdDocuments database is a single file. A backup of this file is another file containing the data in the database file, usually in a special and compressed format, which can be restored to a working database file.
Why would we be interested in a backup file?
Here is one reason. If the machine containing your database was stolen or destroyed you could use the backup file to restore the database and retrieve all data entered up to the time the backup file was made. The data entered or edited after the last backup forward would be need to be reentered. This we call and emergency backup and restore, where the restore takes place after the backup. Data may be lost.
Here is another reason. The database engine used by
bcdDocuments is named
Firebird. When it is updated and improved it may require some restructuring of the data file so the engine can make use of its new features. Performing a backup and restore will restructure the database file without loss. This is a maintenance backup and restore where the restore takes place immediately after the backup and no data is lost.
Here is another reason. Performing a maintenance backup and restore from time to time, say once a year, can make database operations faster by optimizing space in the database file. This is also a maintenance backup and restore and no data is lost.
Backup files are placed in the
Backup Directory on the database server as they are made. This directory is specified using the
ConfigManager program. Before doing an emergency backup and restore there must be a network share available to the bcdDocuments program and the persons designated as
bcdDocuments Administrators. This is required so that a backup file can be selected for restoration.
To minimise access to the database file it is recommended no share be provided for access to the database file. So, it is also recommended the
Backup Directory be separate from the
The backup files are best made when there are no other users connected to the bcdDocuments database. This ensures no other user is editing data as the backup ia saved. If you are doing a maintenance backup and restore this requirement is mandatory.
The backup and restore form is in three parts: The Preliminary tab is for requesting all bcdDocuments users to close. The their program. The Backup tab is for making backups and the Restore Tab is for restoring a database from a backup.
On the Preliminary page, available only to bcdDocuments Administrators, you may request all users to close their program.
The number of users connected to the bcdDocuments database is shown at the top of this form.
When this request is made each running copy of the program requests the user to close their program within so many minutes. The number of minutes allows can be from 1 to 7 and this value is set below. If their program is not closed within that time it will automatically close. From the time the request is made till the bcdDocuments administrator closed their program no other users are allowed a connection with the database. An attempt to connect will be presented with a message explaining no connections are permitted. Should some error occur this lock on bcdDocuments can be removed using the ConfigManager program.
The four settings on this page under your control are the backup depth, the minutes users have before a forced shutdown occurs, when required, and whether or not to save backup and restore logs. The backup directory on the database server is specified in the
ConfigManager program. On pressing the button you will select what to do.
If you select 2, 3 or 4 and there are others using your database with bcdDocuments they will see a request to close their copy of bcdDocuments as below.
The backup page has a button to start the backup. The running log indicates the activity of the supporting backup program named gbak, which is part of the Firebird database package. The green progress bar shown below indicates progress. Pressing the [Help] button will bring up this page. Press when the backup has completed.
A restore requires all other users be logged out of bcdDocuments. When you select a restore a message will be sent to all users currently logged in to bcdDocuments asking them to log out within the number of minutes you selected on the preliminary page. When the restore requestor is the only remaining user the restore can begin.
The restore page has a button to begin a restore.
When a restore is complete you will be prompted to close bcdDocuments. Closing is necessary after a restore.